The Genealogy Bug!

I was first bitten by the genealogy bug as a teenager.  I spent long hours copying all of my aunties’ pedigree charts and family group sheets.  I mean aunties in the plural… because I visited the homes of several of them to get the information.  Back then, genealogical information was typed into an extra long (landscape oriented) form.  I subsequently took a genealogy class at BYU and wrote my first personal history.

A few fears later, my husband and I purchased our first computer and I began typing all of that information into the PAF program created by the LDS church.  I downloaded every updated version until it became obsolete!  The “bug” bit again later when we lived in California.  My youngest daughter loved to play under a desk when I volunteered at the local family history library once a week.

I am blessed with an extensive Pioneer ancestry and lots of my genealogy has already been done… or so I thought.  Now I can search for cousins!  With the new Family Tree website, I have been able to make sure all of the temple work has been done for my ancestors.  I have spent hours at a time, during the last year, checking and re-checking that website.  And, recently, I found out my mother had a treasure trove of old pictures and documents that I have been scanning and preserving!  The main purpose of this blog is to provide access to that information to interested persons.

Leave a Reply

duplogosmall
FamilySearch Indexing Indexer Badge
mayflower
DAR_Logo
