RootsTech… Wow!

I attended the 3rd annual RootsTech conference this past week and realized something… I’ve been a “beginner” genealogist for the past 30+ years!  Now, armed with new software and a head full of new (to me) search strategies, I just might become an “intermediate” genealogist.  I don’t know where to start!  I loved how the conference focused on four principles: find, organize, preserve and share.  More than 7000+ attendees and there was something for everyone!  I was drawn to the “find” classes but managed to fit in a couple of others.  For example, I learned how to fix my old photographs like this one:

Unknown Students1

I chose to use the ipiccy website (free!) to repair the cracks in this old picture.  Just upload an old photo and practice.  Read their tutorials for help and remember to save a copy of the original.  In my repaired photo, some of the children’s faces turned out looking a little bit unnatural due to the size of the crack, but the overall effect is much better than the original!

Unknown StudentsH

This is an old picture of students in Nephi, Utah.  I found it with some pictures and documents my grandmother had saved.  No date or names were given, but it is likely a Bowles or Bowers family member is present in this picture!

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Mom
    Mar 28, 2013 @ 19:30:52

    Wow, that looks great. I think their faces look great. I’m thinking they are sitting on the steps of the old tabernacle. I can remember going to the Bee Hives there. My teacher was Thelma Chase. I think it was about where the General Dollar is now.
    Love you, Mom

    Reply

Leave a Reply

duplogosmall
FamilySearch Indexing Indexer Badge
mayflower
DAR_Logo
