Who is Sarah Pay?

I found out she’s my first cousin, 3 times removed… gone but not forgotten!

Sarah Pay (1)

During the summer of 2012, my mom casually mentioned she had a box of old photos and things from her parents/grandparents.  I immediately freaked out and spent long hours scanning these treasures!  I came across this funeral tribute, which piqued my curiosity.  I assumed this Sarah had some connection with my Bowles or Bowers family lines from Nephi, Utah.

Sarah Pay (2)

My 2nd great-grandmother is Caroline Goble.  I had a hunch that this Sarah may have been the daughter of Caroline’s older sister, Mary Goble.  The William Goble family sailed on the Horizon from England to America in 1856 and then traveled with the Martin Handcart Company to Utah, eventually settling in Nephi.  Mary Goble married Richard Pay on 26 Jun 1859 in Nephi, Juab, Utah; they were later sealed in the Endowment House on 8 Dec 1865.

The 1870 US Fed Census lists Richard & Mary as living in Nephi with 3 children (having already buried 3 children).  The 1880 US Fed Census lists them as living in Leamington, Millard, Utah with 7 children.  The following year their eleventh child, Sarah Eliza Pay, was born on 26 Jan 1881.  Sarah died at age 14-years on 12 Nov 1895 and was buried in the Vinebluff Cemetery in Nephi.

Leave a Reply

duplogosmall
FamilySearch Indexing Indexer Badge
mayflower
DAR_Logo
