Me & Dean & James Stewart

Jimmy Stewart Program

I love old movies.  Even when Dean and I were married, almost 30-years-ago, Jimmy Stewart was considered an “older” actor.  He was still very famous and I had seen several of his old movies.  On February 1st, 1985, we sat with Jimmy Stewart and his wife to watch one of those movies.  OK… he was seated up front and we were near the back of the de Jong Concert Hall on BYU Campus.  But we were breathing the same air as he was!

This was on the same day that Dean gave me my engagement ring.  We had gotten engaged about one month before.  Dean surprised me by purchasing a pearl ring and hiding it in my apartment.  When I arrived home from class, my roommates were grinning with anticipation as I started looking for my ring with the “treasure hunt” notes that Dean had created.  What a romantic dude, but I was so self-conscious about it!  Now, with a ring on my finger, I guess we were officially going to get married 🙂

Jimmy Stewart was being honored in Utah for his wonderful life.  The Brigham Young University, the City of Provo and the State of Utah had proclaimed “Jimmy Stewart” week from Jan. 28th to Feb. 1st, 1985.  Jimmy Stewart was a beloved actor who also had a distinguished military career.  Miraculously, he had chosen to give his memoirs to BYU and Dean and I had tickets to the event!  After a brief introduction and then comments from Mr. Stewart, we found that we were going to watch his favorite of his movies… “It’s a Wonderful Life.”  The lights dimmed and we watched it on 35mm film… what a fabulous experience!  Now, even after almost 30-years, we still keep our tradition of watching It’s a Wonderful Life every Christmas Eve… preferably the black & white version.

 

Leave a Reply

duplogosmall
FamilySearch Indexing Indexer Badge
mayflower
DAR_Logo
