I was a Pioneer, once

Pioneer Trek Pix1a

For one week, during the summer of 1980, I had a very small glimpse of what it means to be a Pioneer.  We pulled handcarts a total of about 12-miles through the canyon near Springville during that week, with most of the travel occuring on the first day and late into that night.  At one point, we stopped and prayed for a good place to camp.  Some people were crying and we were all very sleepy and worn out.  I remember sitting there with my friend and I asked her if she could stand up and dance… then I did it.  Even with blisters on my feet, I felt that I could still find enough energy in my spirit to overcome the physical exhaustion.  I guess I had to prove it to myself.

The next morning we pushed our carts another mile and then camped there for the rest of the week.  We cooked and cleaned and played and danced.  We had the opportunity to wash our hair in a very cold spigot one day, and then danced up a dust storm that night.  This news article gives a good outline of our itinerary.  It mentions that I was the only one to hit the target with a shot gun.  I was just very lucky!  The target was an older watch attached to a tree.  I aimed… then closed my eyes… and pulled the trigger.  The “leader” (from BYU) was shocked that I had hit it.  Then, he gave me the metal ring around the watch because that is what I hit.

Pioneer Trek Pix2a
This pioneering experience was 35-years ago and before “trekking” had become as popular as it seems to be now.  The most important thing I learned was something about myself… that I could, if I would, tap into a source of inner strength to get me through tough times.  I think the source of that kind of strength is the Light of Christ.  I want to have that kind of inner strength to help myself and others.  My great-grandmothers had that type of strength.  As mothers, they traveled with their families to ‘Zion’ with the Willie & Martin Handcart companies.  My heart is turning to my Pioneer ancestors… See Malachi 4:6

Tribute to Jane Haynes James

Tribute to Mary Penfold Goble

Leave a Reply

duplogosmall
FamilySearch Indexing Indexer Badge
mayflower
DAR_Logo
